One of the oldest buildings in the best preserved of the Suffolk wool towns, this 14th century house was built for the Causton family of clothiers and its subsequent development has mirrored the changing fortunes of Lavenham.
Step inside Little Hall, one of the oldest timberframed buildings in the best preserved of the Suffolk wool towns. Its history mirrors the changing fortunes of Lavenham.
Built in the 1390s for the Causton family of clothiers, enlarged and improved in 1425-50, it was then ‘modernised’ in Tudor times by the addition of a fireplace and upper floor in the hall.
Picture the austerity of this 14th Century house when the Caustons first lived in it and contrast the starkness of the Middle Ages with the beautiful furnishings and artefacts in the house today.
Wander through the seven rooms and discover the treasures of Little Hall including the study with exotic Persian panels and the spectacular upstairs chamber with its striking crown-post.
Walk round the beautiful garden combining a knot-garden planted along Tudor lines with a traditional English walled garden.
Come into a museum that has the atmosphere of a home – the only example of domestic medieval architecture open to the public in the village. Little Hall is an essential part of your visit to Suffolk.