Leiston Works, or Garretts was a family business from 1778 to 1932, after which the company passed into the hands of Beyer Peacock. The works finally closed in 1981. The historic core was preserved and opened as a museum in 1984.
‘The Long Shop’ itself is a very early example of a building designed for assembly-line production. It is grade II* listed, and the water tower is grade II listed.
The museum’s collections relate to the Garrett family, the draftsmen, engineers and other craftsmen who worked here; the engines, tools, vehicles and machines that were made here, and the impact of the Works on this small Suffolk town.
Discover Industrial Revolution Suffolk! Displays include marvelous machines to demonstrate 200 years of local, social and industrial history housed in the original building of Richard Garrett’s Engineering Works. Plus there are a range of hands on activities for all ages.
Adults £6.50, Young Adults £5.00 (17 – 21 years), Children £3.50 (4 – 16), Young Children Free (Under 4), Disabled £5.50, Carer £5
- Accepts Groups
- Coach Parties Accepted
- Disabled Toilets
- Education Study Area
- Facilities For Conferencing
- Facilities For Corporate Hospitality
- Facilities For Educational Visits
- Facilities For Groups
- Gift Shop
- Picnic Site
- Wheelchairs Available