You Unplugged

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Boat (c) Visit England / Diana Jarvis

Refine your search

Your Shortlist

Shortlist symbol Add to shortlist button.

Type of Venue

 

Location

 

Facilities

 

Or Venue Name

 
 

image for Museum item typeBawdsey Radar Transmitter Blockadd to shortlist

  • Self-assessed Accessibility Information

Museum, next open Sun 26 May 2019

Bawdey Radar Transmitter Block

Bawdey Radar Transmitter Block

The 1937 building is fully conserved and is home to an interactive exhibition telling the Bawdsey Radar story.

Address

Bawdsey Radar,
Transmitter Block,
Bawdsey,
Suffolk,
IP12 3BA

Details

Bawdsey Radar is where operational radar was developed that helped win the Battle of Britain. This historic 1937 Transmitter Block has been conserved and is now home to an interactive exhibition and displays telling the story of the men and women, who worked in top secret, to protect Britain.
There is a children's trail - come and be a Bawdsey Boffin! Try your hand at being a radar operator and bring a picnic to enjoying the grounds.

Baby changing facilitiesCredit cards accepted (no fee)Disabled toiletsGift shopOn-site light refreshmentsPicnic sitePublic toiletsAccepts groups

Children welcomeDisabled accessDogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Smoking not allowedFacilities for hearing impaired

Opening details

Season Dates Opening Hours
Thu 23 May 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 26 May 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Mon 27 May 2019 Mon 11:00 16:00
Thu 30 May 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 2 Jun 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 6 Jun 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 9 Jun 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 13 Jun 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 16 Jun 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 20 Jun 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 23 Jun 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 27 Jun 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 30 Jun 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 3 Jul 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 4 Jul 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 7 Jul 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 10 Jul 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 11 Jul 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 14 Jul 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 17 Jul 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 18 Jul 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 21 Jul 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 24 Jul 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 25 Jul 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 28 Jul 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 31 Jul 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 1 Aug 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 4 Aug 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 7 Aug 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 8 Aug 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 11 Aug 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 14 Aug 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 15 Aug 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 18 Aug 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 21 Aug 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 22 Aug 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 25 Aug 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Mon 26 Aug 2019 Mon 11:00 16:00
Wed 28 Aug 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 29 Aug 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 1 Sep 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 4 Sep 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 5 Sep 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 8 Sep 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 11 Sep 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 12 Sep 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 15 Sep 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 18 Sep 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 19 Sep 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 22 Sep 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 25 Sep 2019 Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 26 Sep 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 29 Sep 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 3 Oct 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 6 Oct 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 10 Oct 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 13 Oct 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 17 Oct 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 20 Oct 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Thu 24 Oct 2019 Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 27 Oct 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Sun 1 Dec 2019 Sun 11:00 16:00
Please check opening dates carefully!

Prices

Adults £7.00
Children 5-18 £1.00
Concs £6.50
Under 5s free
Defence Privilege Card holders £5.00

Location

Directions

See location of Bawdsey Radar Transmitter Block on Google mapsSee location on Google maps

Map reference: TM 340382  Lat: 51.99297 Long: 1.40743

By car: from the A12 proceed to Melton and then take the B1083 to Bawdsey village. A mile past the village look out on the left for park gates with concrete balls. Turn left immediately after the gates, drive along the avenue of trees and look left for the car park and Transmitter Block

By public transport:

Parking: free

Facilities

  • Baby changing facilitiesBaby changing facilities
  • Credit cards accepted (no fee)Credit cards accepted (no fee)
  • Disabled toiletsDisabled toilets
  • Gift shopGift shop
  • On-site light refreshmentsOn-site light refreshments
  • Picnic sitePicnic site
  • Public toiletsPublic toilets
  • Accepts groupsAccepts groups
  • Children welcomeChildren welcome
  • Disabled accessDisabled access
  • Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)Dogs not accepted (except guidedogs)
  • Smoking not allowedSmoking not allowed
  • Facilities for hearing impairedFacilities for hearing impaired

Self-Assessed Accessibility Details

Parking

  • The surface of the car park and pathway leading to entrance:
    • Yesis solid
  • YesDrop-off point for guests outside entrance
  • The route from the parking area to the entrance:
    • YesIs flat (i.e. without steps)

Public Areas

  • Level access (no steps/thresholds) or access by ramp or lift:
    • YesFrom the entrance to reception / ticket area
    • YesTo a specially adapted public toilet suitable for wheelchair users
    • YesTo the gift shop
  • YesGood contrast between the floor and walls
  • YesContrast markings on clear surfaces such as glass doors
  • YesBaby changing facilities

Entrance

  • YesEntrance is well lit

General

  • YesSeating available for visitors with limited mobility
  • YesClear signage
  • YesEffective lighting for visually impaired visitors
  • YesWheelchairs provided
    • YesFree
  • YesRoutes/pathways suitable for wheelchair users or visitors with limited mobility
  • YesDisplays at suitable height for wheelchair users / children
  • YesAudible alarm system