Short List - Content

Shortlist

Things to Do

Bawdsey Radar Transmitter Block

Address

Bawdsey Radar
Transmitter Block
Bawdsey
Suffolk
IP12 3BA

Contact Details

Tel: 07821 162879
Bawdsey Radar is where operational radar was developed that helped win the Battle of Britain. This historic 1937 Transmitter Block has been conserved and is now home to an interactive exhibition and displays telling the story of the men and women, who worked in top secret, to protect Britain.
There is a children's trail - come and be a Bawdsey Boffin! Try your hand at being a radar operator and bring a picnic to enjoying the grounds. For further information visit: www.bawdseyradar.org.uk

Directions

By car: from the A12 drive to Melton and then take the B1083 to Bawdsey village. A mile past the village look out on the left for park gates with concrete balls. Turn left immediately after the gates, drive along the avenue of trees and look left for the car park and Transmitter Block

By public transport:

Prices and opening

Adults £7.00
Children 5-18 £1.00
Concs £6.50
Under 5s free
Defence Privilege Card holders £5.00

Opening details

Season DatesOpening Hours
Wed 24 Jul 2019Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 25 Jul 2019Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 28 Jul 2019Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 31 Jul 2019Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 1 Aug 2019Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 4 Aug 2019Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 7 Aug 2019Wed 11:00 16:00
Thu 8 Aug 2019Thu 11:00 16:00
Sun 11 Aug 2019Sun 11:00 16:00
Wed 14 Aug 2019Wed 11:00 16:00
And more...
NotesPlease check opening dates carefully!